Lamborghini, fourth car brand to win the GT Open


By taking the 2016 overall title of the International GT Open with their Huracán GT3, the Orange1 Team Lazarus pair of Thomas Biagi and Fabrizio Crestani have allowed Lamborghini to enter the very selected club of car brands having won the GT Open title.

To date, only Ferrari, Porsche, McLaren and now Lamborghini have managed so. The Prancing Horse is clearly the brand having been most successful, with 7 crowns. Porsche won in 2007 thanks to Autorlando and Camathias-Lietz, while Teo Martín’s McLaren 650S took glory last year with Ramos-Parente.

The Huracán GT3, now campaigned by over 20 teams around the world and champion also in the GT Asia, has marked the expansion of the customer racing programme of the Bull of Sant’Agata, who will again be very well represented in the GT Open in 2017.

Commenting on the 2016 achievements, Giorgio Sanna, head of Motorsport at Automobili Lamborghini, stated: “We are very proud of winning a top series such as the International GT Open at the debut with the Huracán GT3. The preparation of Orange 1 Team Lazarus, the mix of experience and speed offered by the drivers Thomas and Fabrizio best represent the values of Lamborghini Squadra Corse in teamwork”.