The 2017 Champions awarded at glamorous gala in Madrid


The Champions of the International GT Open and of the Euroformula Open were the stars of a glamurous evening at the Casino de Madrid, one of the landmark historic palaces in the heart of the Spanish capital.

Giovanni Venturini, the 2017 Champion of the GT Open, collected his award. He was accompanied by a delegation of Imperiale Racing, with Giorgio Ferro and Federica Bortolotto being awarded the Teams’ Trophy, and of Lamborghini Squadra Corse, led by Giorgio Sanna and Mauro Casadei.

Victor Bouveng and Fran Rueda (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Albert Costa and Philipp Frommenwiler completed the overall podium. The Pro-Am trophy for Shaun Balfe and Robe Bell was collected by Chris Moore from Balfe Motorsport, with Luis Silva and Márcio Basso, both defending the colours of Sports&You taking the top two trophies in Am, and Mathias Stepanek of MS Racing taking the third’s trophy for Alex Hrachowina-Martin Konrad.

The Vice President of the Royal Spanish Federation of Motorsport (RFEdA), Joaquín Verdegay, honoured the ceremony with his presence and awarded the top honours. In his address, he stressed “the excellent work done over the years by GT Sport, a Spanish organization that is among the top players at international level, in a motorsport context that has gone through many challenges recently”.

Over 90 guests attended the evening hosted by Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, who in his address, underlined: “It has been an exciting racing season until the very end for the International GT Open, which is back  to the spot it belongs and is positioning itself as the top pro-am series in Europe. This trend will continue in 2018”.