Teo Martín’s party, as Rueda-Saravia win and Kodrić-Chaves take standings lead


Fran Rueda and Andrés Saravia took a revenge on the unlucky incident suffered yesterday, imposing their McLaren 720S in Race 2 today at Spa, in what is their second win of the season. It was a triumph for Teo Martín Motorsport, as Henrique Chaves and Martin Kodrić took second. The Portuguese and the Croatian are now leading the overall standings, with 52 points, one more than Greiner-Siedler, today only 9th, in a bad day for the Emil Frey Racing Lambos, as Costa-Altoè had to retire with brakes issue.

Third overall and winners in Pro-Am were Valentin Pierburg-Tom Onslow Cole, ahead of Habul-Jäger (Sun Energy 1 Mercedes) and Kujala-Amstutz (Imperiale Lambo), while Davide Roda (Antonelli Motorsport) doubled yesterday’s success in Am, ahead of the two other Mercedes of Konrad-Hrachowina (HTP Motorsport) and Hill-Shoffner (GetSpeed).

THE RACE – Keeping up with his tradition, Tom Onslow-Cole took pole for Race 2 (for the third time in three rounds) and kept the advantage at the start, preceeding Costa, Barnicoat, Siedler, Saravia, Jäger, Chaves and Konrad, who fights hard with Giammaria in the initial laps. In lap 5, there is a contact at the chicane between Froggatt and Meadows, who spins and is forced to the pits, where he retires.

Onslow-Cole keeps the lead but can’t really pull away from Costa, with Barnicoat and Siedler a little bit further behind. In lap 7, Luis Silva goes off at turn 9 hitting hard the barriers. The Portuguese is ok, but the safety-car is deployed and will stay for two laps. Shortly after, opens the window for driver changes.

After all pit stops, Pierburg leads with 5 seconds over Hahn, who spins under the pressure of his team mate Rueda. Follow Kodrić, Habul, Pohler, Onidi, Hahn and Schandorff (who will receive a 5-penalty for track limits).  Drama strikes for Altoè as in the out lap the Emil Frey Lambo has to retire with a brakes issue.

The duel between Pierburg and Rueda is intense but the Spaniard takes the lead and the win. The other Teo Martín McLaren, with Kodrić at the wheel, will also pass the Mercedes, ensuring the 1-2. Pohler is fourth ahead of an excellent Schandorff (who drops to 10th because of sanction), and Habul, second in Pro-Am. Roda wins in Am ahead of Hrachowina and Janine Hill.