The 2023 winners awarded in style in Madrid


The 2023 GT Sport Awards Ceremony took place yesterday evening, in the elegant framework of the Mandarin Oriental Ritz Hotel in Madrid. It gathered over 80 members of the GT Open and the GT Cup Europe communities, who could enjoy top Mediterranean gastronomy by Michelin 3-star chef Quique Dacosta and a taste of flamenco by the La Manuela group.

Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, and Luis Ramos, on behalf of the series most faithful partner, Michelin, hosted the prize-giving ceremony. Stars of the evening were the three top contenders of the Overall standings. These included Diego Menchaca (third classified), a full Eastalent Racing delegation, with Peter Reicher being presented the Team’s  Trophy and Simon Reicher and Christopher Haase being awarded as Vice Champions, and Charlie Fagg collecting the Champion cups, also on behalf of his Optimum Motorsport teammate Sam De Haan, who could not be present.

In his address, Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, praised all teams and drivers that contributed to making the 2023 edition of the GT Open “the most competitive and closely-fought in recent years, up to the very last corners of the last lap of the last race”. He also touched upon the adjustments and improvements that will be introduced this year and derive from lessons learned and the excellent prospects for 2024, with an expanded grid and the addition of an eighth event to the calendar, in a key market like Germany and on a fantastic track such as Hockenheim.

(Pictures of the evening available in the Media gallery)